direkt zum Inhalt springen

direkt zum Hauptnavigationsmenü

Sie sind hier

TU Berlin

Page Content

OnlyOffice

ONLYOFFICE provides one of the most frequently requested features for tubCloud:

Concurrent editing of Office documents within a team. The best part? You don’t even need a word processing program on your computer, just a web browser.

You no longer have to depend on Google Docs to collaboratively work on documents. Instead you can easily do so using tubCloud, ensuring greater data protection.

All collaborators can view the current file version practically simultaneously in ONLYOFFICE. It constantly saves changes in the background so that you do not have to worry about troublesome data loss. This also no longer requires you to remember to save the file every now and again, enabling you to fully concentrate on your work.

Features

As a traditional Office Suite, ONLYOFFICE offers the following functions:

  • Collaborative editing of documents
  • Automatic and consistent document saving in the background
  • Text processing
  • Spreadsheets
  • Presentation software
  • Compatibility with common data formats including an export function

Use

To use this service, log into tubCloud as usual via: https://tubcloud.tu-berlin.de/

ONLYOFFICE automatically opens when you click on the file name of an ONLYOFFICE document (e.g. .docx, .odt, .xlsx, .ods, .pptx, .odp,...) in your tubCloud or add a new ONLYOFFICE document.

Lupe

If you would like to close the document, simply click on the folder symbol with the arrow -> or on File -> “Open file location” in the menu.

This saves the file. In your folder view, click on the file name to be taken to ONLYOFFICE again.

Tips: When in tubCloud, click on the icon instead of the file name to view information about the most recent activity or different file versions, add a comment, share the file, or copy the link to this file. If you want to download the file, click on the ellipses (...) in the menu and select “Download”.

Creating a new ONLYOFFICE file

Lupe

Open the folder in which you would like to create a new ONLYOFFICE document and click on the plus sign at the top. Select:

  • Document, if you would like to create a Word file
  • Spreadsheet, if you would like to create a spreadsheet file
  • Presentation, if you would like to create a presentation file

Note: The options “Upload file”, “New folder”, and “New text file” (a file with text and without any formatting) were available before the introduction of ONLYOFFICE. The options “Document”, “Spreadsheet”, and “Presentation” are new.

Opening an existing file

Lupe

If you click on a file name in tubCloud that only ONLYOFFICE can edit, the respective ONLYOFFICE program (word processing, spreadsheet, presentation) will open. All three programs are very similar to standard software products and can thus be used intuitively.

Collaborative editing

Lupe

The central feature of ONLYOFFICE is the ability to simultaneously edit a shared file. All collaborators are always able to view the most current file version.

Important requirements for use:

  • All collaborators must be online and have the file open in their browser at the same time.
  • To edit a file together, this file and its superordinate folder must be enabled for all collaborators.

Tips:

To ensure that all collaborators actually open the same file, it can be helpful to share the tubCloud link to the file. To share the link, follow these steps:

  1. By clicking on the ellipses (...) next to the document you wish to edit, you open the context menu for this file.
  2. Then click on Details (i) to open the side menu on the right.
  3. You can then copy the unique link to this file by clicking on the clipboard symbol with the arrow.
  4. Send the file link to all participants by pasting it (e.g. Control-V or CMD-V) in an email or chat.
Lupe

If the file is not yet accessible to all collaborators, you can easily fix this directly in ONLYOFFICE.

  1. Click on the symbol with two people and then the + sign in the upper right. The side menu will then open again.
  2. You can now search and add collaborators by email address.

The shared documents can be found in tubCloud under “Shared with you”. You can also send the file link to your colleagues as described above.

Lupe

You can enable change-tracking by clicking on the symbol in the lower right or the menu option “Collaboration” > “Track Changes”.

Lupe

Text added by other collaborators is highlighted as shown in the screenshot.

Known problems

Any changes made to a file outside of tubCloud and then synchronized with tuCloud/Nextcloud Client will be delayed and may lead to multiple versions (conflict files) being created or overwriting the most recent changes in tubCloud.

This can also occur if you uploaded a previously downloaded file that was subsequently edited offline.

Before editing a document offline and uploading it to tubCloud or synchronizing it with tubCloud, we recommend checking the status of the file in tubCloud and, if applicable, downloading the newer file.

Zusatzinformationen / Extras

Quick Access:

Schnellnavigation zur Seite über Nummerneingabe